What we’ve been reading lately

fullsizeoutput_4455Julian: Dragons Love Tacos, ad nauseum. They say kids like repetition, and I can definitely say that’s true in our house. He is starting to have it memorized. Other current faves are Hug by Jez Alborough, Matthew ABC, and Little Blue Truck.

Ted: Just finished A Man Called Ove, which he read at my/my mom’s suggestion, and liked but didn’t love. I’m trying not to take it personally.  Ted and I sometimes try to read the same book at the same time so we can talk about it, and we finished Devil In The White City pretty recently. We both liked it pretty well, but agreed that the preparations for the World’s Fair kind of dragged in the middle.

Elise: I’ve been on kind of a mystery novel kick lately. Right now I’m in the middle of listening to A Fatal Grace, second book in the Armand Gamache series, and reading The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling. I’m enjoying both but also looking forward to a different genre when they’re done. I have also been listening to The Story of A New Name by Elena Ferrante, because both books came available at the same time on my library account. It’s a little jarring going back and forth, but I’m definitely the kind of person who likes to be in the middle of a few books at a time. Oh and also How To Talk So Kids Will Listen And Listen So Kids Will Talk. Starting to realize I might be overloading  myself…

Next on my list, I’m pretty sure, is Lonesome Dove, which Ted loved and sounds like a good thing to sink my teeth into for fall turning into winter.

 

Leave a Reply

