“This is painful, and it will be for a long time” -HRC

 

I sobbed my eyes out today listening to Hillary Clinton’s concession speech. I basically was sobbing off and on all day. I still cannot believe that this happened. It feels like my worst nightmare. I alternate between trying to think of a way out and just wanting to get in bed and stay there for a month. Screaming at Trump supporters also sounds kind of good, although deep down I know that none of these approaches is right or helpful. I keep seeing people trying to put a cheerful spin on everything, and while I hope I can get there, right now I’m mourning.

If anything good came out of this, for me, it’s that I realize how important it is to be involved and fight for what I believe. I realized I believe in smart, good, powerful women and have so many good examples of that in my life. I was inspired by all my friends in Rochester who visited Susan B. Anthony’s grave to thank her. I was able to vote against hatred and racism and misogyny. And more than ever, I feel the importance of my responsibility to raise some little feminists who will grow up to make the future smarter, kinder, and better for everyone regardless of race or religion.

“…but I want you to remember this. Our campaign was never about one person or even one election, it was about the country we love and about building an America that’s hopeful, inclusive and big-hearted…

And — and to all the little girls who are watching this, never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.”

Leave a Reply

