Right Now

IMG_1297

Right now banana bread is baking in the oven, smelling impossibly delicious. I like the taste of banana bread, but nothing has ever tasted as good as baking banana bread smells. It’s just one of those things, like movie theater popcorn. Ever since I met Ted, he has been a banana fiend-at least one per day, I have gotten used to buying more than it seems possible to consume. But lately the heat and humidity means bananas have been blackening like crazy on the counter, and so, I make banana bread.

Julian is napping, sleeping off our exhausting adventure of accidentally running 5 miles earlier this morning. We were meeting up with a bunch of moms in the park and I underestimated how long it would take me to run there. (I don’t know what he’s all worn out about though.) This mom world is a whole new thing for me, and I’m still not that good at it. I’m used to talking to a 6 month old all day who thinks that everything I have to say is utterly fascinating, and I’m not yet able to commiserate with all the frustration that parenting entails for other moms  – Julian and I are still in the honeymoon phase I think (6 month olds are magic.) But still it’s nice to be invited.

I’m reading Harry Potter to Julian because I am ridiculous and also because I really wanted to read through all of them again. He can handle about 3 pages before he gets antsy, but we’re making some good progress. We like to discuss things such as why Neville Longbottom wasn’t a Hufflepuff and Hermione wasn’t a Ravenclaw (see above regarding babies who have to be enthralled by what their mamas say.) Just getting him started early so he’ll be prepared when we go to Harry Potter land together someday.

I’m off to go get my boy and then eat a banana muffin or three.

One thought on “Right Now

  1. Way to get Julian started off right! I’m so glad you’re contributing Harry Potter fans to our family. 🙂 I love your slice-of-life blog posts like this. And I had never thought about why Hermione and Neville are Gryffindors…I’ll have to have a lengthy chat about that with my nine-year-old Potter fan.

Leave a Reply

