Catch Up

photo (16)

^^This is what my dearest husband does when I injure myself. Photographic evidence!^^

So this weird thing happened while Ted was studying for step one. His life was 90% dedicated to studying for this test and it made it feel like everything else was on hold for him. And then it started to feel like everything was on hold for me too. Like we were both in this weird limbo where only the test mattered and so what if the dishwasher only got loaded every other day. Needless to say, we were both pretty jazzed on Friday night when the test was finally done; when his testing center hadn’t had a blackout halfway through the eight hour test and forced everyone to reschedule like we heard happened last year; when we were finally released from the spell of the test and how much weight that stupid score carried for our future. (OK…maybe we weren’t totally released from that particular worry until Ted got the results this week!!!!!!) And can I just say, the boy is a champion studier. Eight hours at school every day, and then after a quick dinner he would go right back to it until bed time. I am ridiculously proud of him and that’s about all that needs to be said about that special time in our lives.

The morning after test day was a Saturday and Ted took me to this new cool secret running spot in Rochester. It is right next to the freeway, but also feels like you are in the deep woods, and the trails go on forever. It’s the kind of place where I can’t wait for someone to come visit us so that I can show it to them.

We started running on one of those paths where you have to keep your eyes on the ground in front of you or risk tripping over roots. So I was jogging along carefully watching the ground when, out of nowhere, I smacked into something with my head. I screamed and dropped to the ground more out of shock than anything actually knocking me on the ground. When I looked up, I saw Ted come over to help me up trying really hard not to laugh at the fact that I had just run right into a low hanging tree branch. 

2 thoughts on “Catch Up

Leave a Reply

