2 more things about my mom’s visit

We went to a local indie-ish theater and saw this movie that I was so stoked about because I am OBSESSED with This American Life. As I might have mentioned before once or twice.

I really enjoyed the movie, which is an autobiographical story of Mike Birbiglia’s disorder where he acts out his dreams as he is having them. I already knew the main stories from hearing them on the radio show, but being able to see them all together and all fleshed out was really cool.

+

My mom requested that I post the recipe for my favorite black bean burgers, and since my stockpile has recently run out, I am only too happy to oblige.

Cilantro Lime Black Bean Burgers from Cookin Canuck:
4 pieces day-old or toasted whole wheat sandwich bread
2 tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp-1 whole minced jalapeno pepper, seeds and membranes removed
1 tsp ground cumin
1 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 1/4 cups cooked brown rice
2 tsp fresh lime juice
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1. Gather what you need. Cook rice, toast bread, chop veggies.
2. Sautee onions in a little olive oil until pretty soft, then add jalapeños  garlic, and cumin. Cook over medium heat for just a few minutes.
3. …meanwhile, process your toasted/stale bread into crumbs (preferably while watching Downton Abbey.) Transfer crumbs into a small bowl but keep the food processor out because you will be using it shortly.
4. Use a spatula to get every last yummy drop of the onion mixture into the food processor, then add black beans and rice. Add salt, pepper and lime juice and process.
5. Transfer the black bean mixture to a bowl. Chop cilantro and inhale deeply. Mix the cilantro and half the bread crumbs into the black bean mixture. Add more bread crumbs if it needs help sticking together.
6. Form into patties with your hands. The original recipe suggests making four patties which I find to be straight up crazy. I usually make about 12, but you can adjust according to how big you want your patties to be. Place the patties on parchment or plastic wrap, cover tightly and place in the fridge for an hour or two.
7. Now heat up a little more olive oil in a frying pan. Cook burgers until each side gets crispy. Serve on toasted buns with tomatoes, avocados, more cilantro, cheese (I like pepper jack, swiss, or cotija) and whatever else your heart desires.
These are seriously the best veggie burgers ever. (Well, at least tied with the nut burgers at My Father’s Place.) Like, even Ted loves them. I like to freeze my extras so that I always have one on hand when someone is having a barbecue or if I just need a quick dinner.
XOXO, enjoy
(and sorry about my crappy dark kitchen cellphone pics. Someday I’ll have a good camera. (and I’ll probably still use my cell phone haha))
2 thoughts on “2 more things about my mom’s visit

Leave a Reply

