Caroline Street: The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

The Good:

The instant we saw this place, we knew we wanted to live here. The old-fashioned charm, the lovable quirks, all the space for goodness sake. Some of my favorite parts….

An entire wall of built in bookshelves in Ted’s office. Not to mention…Ted gets an office!

A kitchen pantry room with glass doors to show off all my pretty kitcheny things, plus tons of storage space.

The best bathroom medicine cabinet. It is all real wood and really deep so we don’t have to keep our crappy broken particle board cabinet (which I put on the front lawn and was taken by the cable guy 30 seconds later as I watched from the porch.)

There’s this song that I used to listen to, before I could even fathom moving to Western NY, that goes like this

“…there’s another part of the country/with a land that gently creaks and thuds/where the heavy snows make faucets leak/in bathrooms with free standing tubs/they’re in houses that are haunted/with the kids who lie awake and think about/all the generations past who used to use that dripping sink…” (dar williams, southern california wants to be western new york)

And so long before I moved here, in the back of my mind I knew that houses like this should have beautiful old claw foot bathtubs.

I just really like this door knob.

Cool wooden beverage cart/house for all my candles until I figure out somewhere else to put them.

We live just a block away from one of the coolest streets in Rochester.

Nice neighbors who came up tonight to bring us some cookie mix in a jar

Also, we have an attic with loads of storage space, a free laundry machine, a dishwasher/disposal that work really well, exposed brick wall in the kitchen, nice wide porch for some porch-settin, a back yard with a garden plot, a mudroom, and a big dining room area which has already started breaking our habit of eating all our meals on the couch.

The Bad:

The place is really old, so inevitably, there are some unfortunate quirks along with the charming ones…

With our house came the oldest functioning oven in America I’m pretty sure. When we moved in, our landlord proudly told us about how his mom used to use it when he was little and he’s probably in his sixties so…you do the math. The pilot light keeps going out, letting gas leak into our kitchen. The oven is a total crapshoot as to what temperature you’ll get. The broiler is a greasy drawer beneath the oven that I have been scared to try. Yeah, I’m just trying not to think about it too much.

We have an infestation. But I’m pretty sure it’s the cutest infestation you can have…

Our landlord is super protective of this place because it was the first house he ever bought. Mostly, this is a good thing because it has been kept up really well and he cleaned it until it shined before we moved in. But also, he tends to drop by unannounced, and won’t let us hang anything on the walls or paint. Or have pets, which makes me cry inside a little bit.

Last week, our showerhead fell off while Ted was in the shower so we have been showering with a hose basically. Earlier today, one of our outer storm windows fell off the side of the house and shattered in the side yard below. So it kind of feels like everything is slowly falling apart.

And The Ugly:

Making videos is really awkward, okay. I apologize profusely for the way the camera shakes, and for the way I lie to you about not having laundry to do and then clearly show my full laundry basket. Anyway, here it is in all it’s glory…

4 thoughts on “Caroline Street: The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

  1. yay! I love your house! and the good totally outweighs the bad. although i’m sure you are dying having to use that oven! thanks for the tour 🙂

  2. Agreed- it’s super cute! I’m a little jealous of the wood floors and free standing tub! I’m hoping to get wood floors someday at my house, but it’s a bit much to switch over to a claw foot tub.

Leave a Reply

