IMG_0375

I am now five months pregnant, more than halfway there, and my belly is noticeable to the point where strangers on the elevator ask to touch it. It is pretty amazing and exciting and terrifying. I spent the first four months wanting everything to hurry up and start happening already, and now I’m kind of just content to let things happen in their own time.

It is the craziest, best thing, feeling this baby inside me moving around. He’s getting stronger now. Last week Ted and I were laying in bed before falling asleep and he felt the baby kick for the first time. That had to be one of my favorite moments so far.

My unmarried, very far away from even thinking about wanting to have kids, friend sits next to me at work. Every Monday she googles the week of pregnancy that I am in and together we cringe at the barrage of new symptoms that are listed. Unusual body hair growth? Swollen appendages? Loss of bladder control? Excessive drooling? My pregnancy so far has been much more asymptomatic than I was expecting. Mostly I have had some acid-reflux and recently sleeping has started making my back hurt which is unfortunate. My midwife weighs me each month at our appointments and between two appointments I gained 7 pounds! My baby bump has really narrowed my wardrobe, but I feel quite lucky that I get to be pregnant during a time when maxi skirts are in style. Because COMFORTABLE.

For a few years now, I have been obsessed with reading all about names and different theories of naming. You would think all my research would make things easier now that we actually get to pick a name. But our ever-growing list would beg to differ. I have no idea how we are going to pick just one. And it’s so permanent, so that’s more pressure to pick the right one. Hopefully when we meet the little guy we will just know. But we are definitely having a lot of fun with it in the meantime.

So many of my local friends are also pregnant and due around the same time as I am. It’s like there’s this big, happy, somewhat queasy community that I get to be a member of. I feel so lucky to be going through this experience with a whole group of women who totally understand it.

Reading: Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, Secret of Childhood by Maria Montessori

Craving: Cherry chip cake, which the grocery stores here don’t carry, tater tots and french fries, but that’s not really abnormal for me

Excited for: Birth class, baby clothes, getting closer to meeting my baby boy

